On December 13th 2016 in Abuja, the Nigeria Agribusiness Group (NABG), the apex organization of all agribusiness stakeholders in Nigeria, held its Annual General Assembly Meeting at the Reiz Continental Hotel.

Sani Dangote, Chairman of the NABG Executive Leadership Group (ELG) was elected President. Dangote will continue to serve as Chairman of the Executive Council.

Other elected Exco members were Chief Emmanuel Ijewere, the CEO of Best Foods as Vice President, Antti Ritvonen, the Managing Director of Dizengoff W A (NIG) Ltd) as Secretary, and Akin Sawyerr, Secretary of AFGEAN as Treasurer.

Individual members representing their Association were elected to the Administrative Board, representing Key Segments of the agriculture value chain development including small, medium and large farmer organizations and women farmer associations.

Dr. Tony Bello, CEO of H2AFoods Nig. Ltd was appointed Director General.

Over the past year, NABG has grown from one Segment, the ELG to 22 registered Association members consisting of hundreds of individual members.

According to the newly elected president, “we need to engage and appoint more people with the level of commitment, dedication and sacrifices” that has been demonstrated by some key members of the ELG and notable individuals such as Temitope Oluwo, former Acting Secretary. Oluwo was referred to as “madam NABG” attracting the applause of the House of Delegates.

Later in a press briefing, and citing the case of his tomato factory, Dangote said: “we are working on innovative financing and market price stabilization mechanisms to resolve the issues of supply security to meet the market demands of food and beverage processors in Nigeria.” This is why VP Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, the Executive Governor of Kano State and the Minister of Industries, Trade and Investments recently visited our out-grower farmers in Kano. “The farmers were very happy” he said.

The second NABG AGM was sponsored by the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) under the Micro Reforms for Africa Agribusinesses (MIRA) and by the USAID Nigeria Expanded Trade and Transport (NEXTT) project.

Dr. Tony Bello, NABG Director General
13th December 2016